PDA

Archiv verlassen und diese Seite im Standarddesign anzeigen : Question about vintage dial preservation for the experts!

jholbrook
11.11.2007, 12:47
Greetings R-L-X! :dr:

I've owned very few vintage watches, so I'm far from an expert in this arena, so I have a question about the dial of my 1680.

The markers of my 1680 are in relatively good shape...not ultra brite white, but not a yellowish patina either, which I don't particularly care for. Is there anything I should do storage wise to keep my dial from further yellowing or at least slowing this process down? I know it's caused by the Tritium on the hands and markers...does sunlight affect this process at all? Other environmental factors?

PCS
11.11.2007, 12:56
I guess, sunlight affects this process, also humidity but most of all, I am
quite sure Rolex used many differend mixtures for the indicees, so at all,
some will get more patina, regardless of how you store them.

Edmundo
11.11.2007, 14:11
Because the acrylic glass is not UV resistant the ultraviolet rays can pass and get onto the dial and to the luminous material. This has an effect, of course. Saphire glass protects the components below the glass.

NicoH
11.11.2007, 14:29
So you´re best off *not* to wear the watch? ;)

PCS
11.11.2007, 14:37
Or give her a saphire glass... :D

jholbrook
11.11.2007, 17:09
Thanks for the insight guys...Maybe I'll just wear it more in the winter than in the summer....and at night. :tongue:

I toyed with the idea of storing the original dial and buying one that had been given bright markers.

Boris_Koch
12.11.2007, 09:02
Originally, I took for granted, like most, that the more tritium gets exposed to light, the darker the patina.